Many people in society believe that having fixed punishments for all crimes is a more efficient way of dealing with criminals in the justice system What are the advantages and disadvantages of having fixed punishment?

It's argued by many, whether having a fixed punishment for all felonies is a better way to deal with criminals in the judiciary. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of having one punishment for every single offence, and try to draw some conclusions. To begin with, if every single crime is punished by death, everyone will be scared of committing even a minor felony. This will make it easier for the court as well as the police to punish criminals, and help lower the crime rate, for example, a recent survey in India showed that 30% of chain snatchers find this work much easier, as they are aware that even if they are caught they would hardly be sentenced for a year in prison. As a result, they go on conducting crimes. However, killing someone and jumping traffic lights are crimes on a completely different level, and we cannot give both of them the death penalty as both the crimes are different in magnitude. For instance, there are two offenders, one for littering in public places and another one for murder, waiting for their trial. Now there is not even a single punishment that justifies both felonies, neither can they be put on life sentence nor can they be set free by paying a fine. To conclude, there are both positives and negatives of having the same penalty for all violations. In spite of the fact that it will help in lowering the crime rate, we cannot issue the death penalty for every minor offence.