Some people think that paying taxes is enough to contribute to the society. Others argue that being a citizen involves more responsibilities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, tax plays an essential role in the society because governments can collect the money to meet the demands of the societies. Some argue that as a citizen, except for paying taxes, citizens should involve more duties. I believe that paying taxes is crucial, as well as other social responsibilities. On the one hand, the reason why paying tax is important is that without taxes, the whole country is unable to function normally. The taxes citizens pay is applied in almost every aspect of daily life. For example, some public projects like improving the infrastructure and education, as well as the health and unemployment system need economic supports from the government, which come from taxes. What’s more, tax is also considered as a means of closing the gap between the poor and the rich because in most situations higher-earners paying a larger share of income taxes than lower-earners. However, paying tax should not be the only responsibility that citizens involve in. On the other hand, there are other social duties that individuals ought to take. For instance, protecting the environment should be the responsibility that every citizen pays attention to. The effect that humanity is having on the environment is becoming ever-more important, which is also endangering the lives of future generations. Citizens should be aware of the importance of protecting the environment by reducing the use of plastic bags and recycling. To conclude, paying tax not only benefit the society but also help closing the social gaps. Apart from taxes, citizens ought to recognize there are more can be done to take social duties, and protecting the environment is one of them. I believe by involving the duties that easy to reach can benefit the whole society more.