Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Working culture varied widely all over the world. Western countries such as America and Britain have relatively shorter office hours compared to Asian countries. Some claim economic development is superior in those nations with longer working hours. I wholeheartedly agree with this nation, as I will elaborate the following. Longer working hours often can bring higher productivity. Nowadays, economic competition has become more severe. The country which has faster and larger productivity stands up easily. Take Taiwan for example, people there tend to work more than 12 hours a day, along with fewer national holidays in comparison with Western countries, and it is undeniable that Taiwan’s electric industry plays an indispensable role globally. This could be due to Taiwanese hard working characteristics. Additionally, economic stability and prosperity can also result from a long working time. This work pattern brings opportunities for jobs, contributing to the reduction in unemployment rate. However, it still has certain drawbacks. Working for a long time may cause potential physical and mental health problems. Worker’s rest and sleep time can be deprived, leading to harmful health outcomes. For instance, Japan is well-known for long work hours. Though it is one of economic successful nations, its suicide rate which is related to work has climbed recently. Consequently, health issues should not be underestimated, especially in those nations that have this long working pattern. To conclude, countries with longer office hours enable them to have higher productivity and be more competitive, making them have better economic development. However, sometimes it is at the expense of the employer's health, and people should be more aware of this issue to ensure the country's economic sustainability.