Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit students at the school. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays it has become a quite ubiquitous practice that students at school are sent to different countries in academic exchange programmes to make them ready for the globalised world. Although there are few disadvantages of the trend due to the break of concentration and adjustment issue of students at that amateur stage of life, the advantages of the visits which are broadening the outlook and establishing fruitful network surely outweigh everything. On one hand, when students leave home and family to reach an unknown place full of adversity, they may face different obstacles. Some may not adjust to that environment which is quite normal considering their age. Sometimes for example, they may become exposed to unfavourable companionship, which draws long-term effects on their brain. Moreover, few of them may face difficulties concentrating on their studies because of coping up with two different academic curricula designed differently. In other words, students may find it too difficult to concentrate on study when there is no similarity between both of the programmes. However, all these drawbacks could easily be resolved with proper planning and management. On the other hand, academic exchange visit inevitably brings several benefits. Firstly, this certainly broadens the outlook of students. More specifically, students living in a small city even with the help of technology have limited scope to know the worldbeyond their imagination. When they leave their comfort zone and reach places in the other part of the world, they confront to different cultures, people and ideas which surely make them think more sophisticatedly. Secondly, students make several friends during their visit naturally and fellow students also extend their hand of friendship. For this reason, it is quite evident that people made a plethora of academic exchange in their early life, have a strong network and in this world, in every sector, an established circle of friends is invaluable. Therefore, the advantages of global exchange visits are significantly beneficial for students. To conclude, despite the few demerits of the academic exchange, the merits of this are substantially visible. For that reason, more and more learners should be sent to foreign lands to make them real candidates for the connected world.