Write about the following topic: Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.  In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed that teaching English at school is more useful than getting to learn local languages. However, it is argued that by not giving importance to the latter, the culture is at risk of being lost. While both statements are relevant, I strongly agree that they should be given the same priority at school. Furthermore, both sides will be discussed in the following essay. On the one hand, English has become a Universal language that should be known to the majority of people. For instance, it is crucial to learn how to communicate in more than just your native tongue. If you are interested in making your business grow, studying abroad or even for simple things like travelling. These are clear examples of the opportunities that you can have by learning a second language, and in this specific case, English. In addition, nowadays most of the schools have this as a mandatory subject, which in my personal point of view, is the best way to encourage students to do so. On the other hand, it is well-known that each country has their own dialects that have been lost in the past years. Nevertheless, this can be avoided by promoting their idiom at school. This could be through classes that are specifically taught in their own native speech. Therefore, kids do not have any other options than practising in their school assessments, which can help to keep them alive. As culture represents the history of each country, it should be given the same importance in their population. This can just be achieved by maintaining the practice from the early ages of people's lives. In conclusion, if schools stopped teaching English to instead added a native language, it could be a mistake because people need to communicate around the world for all types of purposes. Despite the fact that it should remain mandatory at school, it can also be taught in your native one. In this scenario, you can maintain both languages without any risk of losing opportunities by giving up on any of them.