Online education is becoming increasingly popular. Many university students are choosing to study online, instead of face to face. Do the advantages of distance education outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been an immense explosion in the popularity of cyber education, particularly after the covid-19 pandemic outbreaks. Despite the fact that nowadays it is not an option in the vast majority of cases to choose online classes, a number of university students frankly prefer to take an online course due to its benefits. This essay will outline what are the possible pros and cons of online education and explain why the benefits are greater than the drawbacks. The clearest disadvantage of studying online is the poor involvement of students. To explain, when people take classes online, they can turn off the camera or microphone anytime. This gives a chance for a student to deviate from an ongoing class, which is directly connected to the quality of focusing and interaction with teachers. Accordingly, the outcome of the study would be less than ideal. To look at the bright side, cyber education can give an opportunity to students who are not able to attend classes physically, such reasons of illnesses or long distances. Besides, it is time, and cost-efficient compare to offline classes. To be more specific, universities do not have to have a classroom for each class. Therefore they can save money from preparing study equipment such as white boards, chairs and desks. Consequently, it will play a role to reduce the tuition fee for students. In a time-efficient way, students and professors do not have to travel every day. It saves tremendous time for both. To summarise, it goes without saying that offline classes are the norm for education. However, considering a broad door to students with different circumstances and cost and time productivity, an online course could bring more benefits to the education system.