Prisons are an expensive way of making bad people worse’ To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has had been a fierce debate over the decades that offenders' behaviour is altered or not after putting them behind bars. Some people argue that making convicts prisoners will make them worse and this idea is futile. I totally disagree with the aforementioned statement. First and foremost, prison houses have had been built on the purpose to combat with crime scenes and deter criminals to protect civilians. In other words, the existence of prisons instils the fear of sentence in offenders' mind; wrongdoers must think twice before looting, vandalism and harming mankind on account of sentence. For instance, each country have their own laws, the duration and degree of punishment according to the written laws. Thus, prison houses considered a place where a convicted can reform his life and could improve his behaviour in the future in an order to avoid any future misdeeds. In addition to it, the presence of these buildings in all around the world is an evidence of the importance of them. The society would be disarrayed and full of social outbursts without controlling criminal actions. Undoubtedly, the authorities have had to invest a lot of money in a bid to manage and renovate such places; however, the cost would worth if the citizens could relieve from offenders and could take breath in a crime-free society. To conclude then, I admit that a high cost is involved to maintain, manage and keep up of confined bars, but the absence could make folks more vulnerable, tender and an easy target for looters.