In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people choosing to buy foreign food instead of local food. I do believe that there are many reasons behind this phenomenon and we can implement numerous methods to foster local food consumption. Firstly, people prefer overseas food due to its quality and standard of safety. It is clear that the foods which are exported to other countries around the world have undergone a strickly check policy to ensure the ingredients list and the origin of products. This, in turn, has attracted people to believe and purchase foreign food. Secondly, imported food contains a diversity of substances that are good for people ’s health. For example, some foods from developed countries like fruits, milk, and so on have higher nutrient rates. Moreover, the goods exchange policy among the countries has contributed to resident’s imported food choices. These products have appeared in lots of markets and thus, people will tend to purchase imported food that is good and safe for their health. To tackle this problem, I think that enhancing people ’s awareness about the quality of local food through the internet should be considered the most effective long- term solution. Some media organizations can generate advertisement programs for residents to know more about products produced locally. In addition, the business and local farmers implement strictly processes to ensure fresh ingredients and detailed product labeling. Therefore, the local products are also famous and become the choice of many people. In conclusion, the foreign food has been consumed more than local ones due to its quality and safety standards. To boost the number of purchasing domestic products, we can promote these products ' development through advertisements and ensure their quality.