Junk food advertising has a harmful effect on society and should be banned. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Over the past few decades, quick convenient food known as junk or fast food has become readily available, however, these kinds of foods can lead to serious health problems such as obesity, high blood pressure and heart diseases. Many believe that the advertising of junk food should be banned as it is not healthy for society. While I do not support a complete ban, I do. however, feel that stricter guidelines should be put in place. Companies should have the right to advertise their products and consumers have the final decision to purchase it or not. For example, Magnum Ice Cream is very famous and they usually advertise on TV and on big billboards, especially when a new treat has come available. They have the right to inform the public, because how else will consumers be aware of their products. If they ban advertisements altogether on junk food then it will lead to a loss in revenue and even retrenchments. At the end of the, day the consumers have the right to know about what products are available. The alternative is to compose stricter laws when it comes to junk food advertisements. The public has the right to know what ingredients are in their food and especially the sugar content in the product. Companies such as Coco-Cola already have the sugar quantity on their bottles and cans educating the public of what is in their soft drink. All fast food outlets should follow their lead when it comes to the sugar quantity Also, fast food advertisements should be banned during children's TV shows. McDonald's for example, deliberately advertise their food during this time as their main consumer market is children and this leads to children preferring to eat fast food rather than healthy food. In conclusion, even though fast food is a quick and easy meal, it is not one of the healthiest food options and it can lead to serious health problems. Therefore it is the responsibility of the companies to inform consumers about the ingredients and stricter rules should be in place. A complete ban is too drastic.