Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often thought that the study of science and preparation of food should be learned in school. However, some might say that time spent in classrooms should be exclusively used for more essential subjects. In this essay, I will be discussing both arguments before arriving at a conclusion and an opinion. On the one hand, history and processes are equally important to shape the future of learners. These not only enhance their academic abilities but also instil discipline. For example, in the Philippines, a subject called Homeroom, which teaches cooking, is included in the curriculum of elementary school students. The reason for this is that teachers want to discuss the foundations of recipes and meal preparation. Consequently, the young will realize the importance of time as well as teamwork. If these attributes are learned at an early age, they will be using them eventually once employed. On the other hand, such can be taught outside the walls of the schools. This is because these skills can be acquired through experience. For instance, a 15-year-old girl can spend her weekends learning how to cook with her parents. In addition, there are classes offered that focus on the fundamentals of food on the whole. In conclusion, others believe that the structure of food and its preparation should be taught in school. Conversely, some say that there are more vital subjects that need to be covered there. These would actually help in developing values that are not taught through books. Although, there are other available resources to instil knowledge in learners. In my opinion, these should still be in the curriculum because they teach the practical skills to be used in the future.