Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic. It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use?

Education is the most important thing to be learned by every child and it should not be restricted to academic lessons only but also in the behaviour field as well. One important stage in a child’s growth is certainly the development of a conscience, which is linked to the ability to tell right from wrong. This skill comes with time and good parenting. Therefore, I certainly believe that punishment at a certain level for the betterment of the children should be allowed which I will brief in the following paragraphs. Teaching good behaviour and virtues, when children are still at young ages, will be easier both by parents and teachers. To commence with, first and foremost, giving feedback for their good behaviour is a perfect way of inspiring them to continue the same in the forthcoming as well. Because children are the one who is innocent during their childhood where they like to do the things which everyone appreciates it. this will make them feel good and acceptable in society. hence, they willingly do the same in the future. for example, a survey conducted by the child care society department revealed that 70% of children learn to be good because of the positive rewards given by mentors or parents. This kind of approach will achieve more than harsh punishments, which might entail many negative consequences unintended by the parents. Knowledge of knowing the diversity between good and bad makes them awake and refrain from attempting the wrongdoings. To help a child learn the difference between right and wrong, teachers and parents should firstly provide good role modelling in their behaviour. Punishments should always be associated with some lessons for children. Punishment must be fruitful and it must not be physically or mentally harmful. A physical punishment merely sends a message that it is acceptable for strong people to hit the weak ones. This may lead to bully others in childhood and adolescence. For example, the world's nursery in Japan asks children to plant trees as a punishment. Such punishments are constructive for children's health and society as well. In conclusion, I believe that children have to learn about positives and negatives at this age and constructive punishment is one of the effective ways of guiding them to learn this distinction.