Childhood obesity is a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this and how can the problem be managed?

Convenient food is more readily available than ever before which leads to serious health problems such as obesity. It is has been noticed especially among youngers that a lot of them are overweight. In this essay, I will discuss the possible causes of this and discuss ways how it can be addressed. There are numerous factors that can lead to obesity, but the two main factors are the consumption of unhealthy food and insufficient exercise. These days the majority of children are eating convenient food that has low nutrient value and are high in sugar, fats and low fibre. The body accumulates all this food which in turn increase the body max index and as result leads to obesity. Another contributing factor is that children do not exercise enough. These days most children spend the majority of their day in a sedentary position either at school or on their devices and they driven around in a car if they need to go somewhere. Both these factors leads can lead to chronic obesity among youngsters. There are numerous ways how this issue can be addressed, but I will mention two methods. The first option is that the government needs to educate the children and their parents about the impact of their food choices. It is usually a deeply rooted complex problem that needs to be addressed. The government can organise a broad spectrum of educational programs whereby the schools and communicates can get involved to educate themselves. In addition, governments should also implement that healthy food options should be more available and affordable. There are more junk food outlets than healthy food outlets and government need to acknowledge the shortage of it. In conclusion, there is no doubt that childhood obesity is slowly becoming a big problem. It is therefore important that the children and parents are well educated about the importance of the food choices that are available. The government needs to get involve and ensure that more healthy food outlets are available to the communities.