Inspire of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

It is thought that lots of people still go hungry globally regardless the good efforts put into agriculture. This essay will discuss why this is happening and suggest some solutions to the menace. Firstly, one of the reasons why the world is still going into hunger today despite advances in agriculture is overpopulation. That is, when there is an increased number of consumers which is far above the amount of farm products produced, there is a likelihood of scarcity which leads to hunger. For example, most African countries, especially Nigeria presently suffer from shortage of food supply because of its increasing population. Secondly, in our society today, most individuals neglect agriculture as a career but prefer a more professional one like medicine. Because of this, there is a constant reduction in agriculture workforce which leads to reduced output and this results to decreased availability of food that is enough for everyone. For instance, results from a survey made in a renowned college in Nigeria about future career, 80 percent of student wanted to work in offices and hospitals and only 20 percent choose to go into farming. Nevertheless, some measures can be put in place to proffer solutions to the issue of food insufficiency. One of such is that governments have to put in efforts to curb the high rise in overpopulation. This can be done by enlightening its citizens on the negative effects of larger families and also putting in place free birth control schemes. An example of this is China, where the authorities advices families to have just one child and this has gone a long way in reducing the country’s number thereby decreasing hunger. Another way out to this is that schools should deliberately choose career paths for some students in Agriculture. What I mean is that, at the point where pupils are to decide their line of career, there should be a fair balance between courses like agriculture, medicine, engineering, etc. by so doing, there will be a lift in agricultural manpower in the nearest future. To conclude, despite the advances in agriculture, overpopulation and professional shortage are some of the reasons why there is still hunger today and therefore, government and educational institutions should act on this to be able to control the menace.