In order to solve traffic problems, the government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transport. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

The importance of imposing a tax on individual vehicles was always debatable and has now become more controversial with many people claiming that it is beneficial while others reject this notion. The substantial influence of this trend has sparked controversy over the potential impact in recent years. In my opinion, this proposition appears to be more rational. This essay will further elaborate on both the positive and negative effects of this trend and thus will lead to a logical conclusion. There are myriad of reasons which will further explain this argument but the most preponderant one is that by an apply a hefty amount of terrific over private four-wheelers helps in the improvement of traffic problems. For instance, the local authorities will use collected funds to enhance the safety and security over the roads, as they will upgrade the rash roads in order to overcome the accidents, therefore, people can safely reach their destination. Another striking benefit of this trend is that it develops public transport. To put it in a simple way, the masses will opt for public vehicles while commuting to their jobs or other places. Since they feel comfortable while travelling in the local transportation. Consequently, it lowers the travelling cost and air pollution. However, there are some pitfalls that negate these arguments and which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of this trend but one of the alarming ones is that most of the citizens cannot afford liability, in turn, they will stop buying the cars which will result in the financial loss of the manufacturers. Therefore, companies will unable to pay their employees. Eventually, this trend cause can unemployment and hamper the economic growth of the country in the long run. According to the arguments aforementioned above, one can reach the conclusion that the benefits of applying the tax to the car owners are instrumental indeed. Nevertheless, its potential drawbacks should not be overlooked either.