In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different views regarding the government's focus on transportation improvement. While there is a strong pro-opinion on investing in the construction of bullet trains and railway lines that connect cities, others support the idea of upgrading current public transport infrastructures and services more. Personally, I agree with the first idea because speedy trains would help the country achieve more than just transportation excellence. It is true that public transport is playing a big role in people’s lives, especially in hectic big cities. Public transport provides customers, like students and professional workers, an affordable option for moving from point A to B. Improvement in this area means better services that cover a wide range of values, such as more carrying capacity, faster speed, bigger area coverage, cheaper price, and superior comfortability. Those refinements would definitely reduce the usage of private transportation modes like cars and motorcycles, which in the end would also solve the congestion and environmental problems. One of the independent studies proved that a capital city like Jakarta benefited from the development of MRT (Mass Rapid Transfer), by reducing those factors by up to 25% and increasing the city’s economic growth rates by 15%. However, the construction of very fast intercity trains is also crucial in a greater scope. While existing public transport improvement helps the community to reach the pinnacle of transportation excellence, the bullet trains aim a higher target of achieving fairer economic distribution nationwide. To explain, the connectivity created by the very fast train networks generates accessibility to people in rural areas. In addition to that, the shorter duration reduces the need for housing in the inner city area. Furthermore, this also leads to the enhancement of people's purchasing power where they would spend the money they earn in the big cities on small businesses around their homes in rural areas. This is a proven concept and is already being implemented by advanced nations like Japan and China. In conclusion, although spending money on existing public transportation would mostly increase the happiness of customers, the investment in bullet trains is more important because of a bigger impact.