In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

Technological and cultural development is the characteristic trait of our age. In this flourishing scenario, however, few would argue that many students fail to obtain desirable employment, despite reaching high qualifications through the course of their studies. In this essay, I will explain which could be the reasons for this situation, as well as proposing solutions to tackle this issue. Nobody could deny that, if there were more qualified job positions, as well as fewer graduated men looking for a high-income job, there wouldn’t be as many unemployed graduates. One of the reasons is that, in the most remunerative and high specialised fields, the job positions available are too few to guarantee enough possibilities to the young alumni. For instance, in the field of economy, top-tier employment positions are still occupied by old employees and tend to be too scarce, in spite of the number of people applying every year after college. Furthermore, too many people manage to complete a master’s degree that they should not even have attended, given their attitudes. In this way, even those who are meant to apply for a low-qualified job decide to refuse manual activities that are considered not valuable, hence remaining unemployed. To solve this puzzle the action to start are very simple: increasing the number of qualified job positions and reducing the number of useless graduates. Firstly, many high-reward employment vacancies need to be established by pensioning the elderly employees. In fact, many epidemiologists and sociologists claim that there is an unacceptable quote of seventy years-old workers occupying the top-tier positions in several companies. Furthermore, if the number of graduates was reduced, very few would be the people that would find themselves unemployed after attending university. In Italy, for example, to improve this point, strict selection criteria have been established in the universities, thus reducing the number of attendants every year. In light of this, freeing job positions through pensioning and limiting access to masters seem to be the fastest ways to resolve the problem. In conclusion, the cultural advancement we are witnessing nowadays does not entail solely benefits. The high rate of unemployment of people who have engaged in further studies has become a growing issue. The main reasons for this modern-day dilemma are the lack of useful working positions, as well as the rising number of alumni. In light of this, a strong policy of pensioning and limited-access university courses could represent the right solutions.