Some consumers are increasingly choosing to buy goods that are produced in their local area, rather than imported goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend

Some people prefer buying locally produced goods rather than imported ones. There are plenty of logical reasons for this trend to prove this action to be highly positive and beneficial. First of all, buying local food is cost-efficient. In other words, consumers will pay only for the products they are purchasing and not for the whole expensive shipping process. For example, in India, an imported avocado costs around 5 dollars each, while an Indian avocado will cost them only a dollar. Secondly, they want to avoid additional chemicals as much as possible and buy organic ingredients. Although preservatives are sprayed to keep the vegetables longer, they lead to serious health complications. For instance, a study showed that people living in villages and eating fresh food with no preservatives suffered 59% less than those buying internationally grown and shipped products. This action of supporting local products is an absolutely positive trend and would inexorably bring benefits to the economy of their country. In the long term, if the rate of imports decreases and the currency stays in the nation, we will witness an added value to the currency. As a result, the country would reach real independence. To illustrate, the Chinese government deprived the whole country of importing and forced the companies to work and produce higher quality goods in China to make people buy national goods. As a result, today China is known as a main hub of production and is the most independent nation in the world. In conclusion, individuals are inclined to purchase locally produced goods, especially edible ingredients because they are more cost-efficient and they contain less preservatives to be healthier. Therefore, this trend is absolutely positive since it supports their national economic growth to a huge extent to become an independent nation like China.