Some people think people working in creative arts should be financially supported by the government. Others think they should find financial support from other sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people call for government’s investment in arts, while opponents believe that artists should rely on other sources of funding. I agree with the former since it benefits both countries and individuals. Financial support from the states preserve rich cultural diversity of the country. Some creative arts, especially folk arts, such as handcrafts, textile products and accessories, are at the edge of dying out with little popularity it has among younger generation which generates hindrance in finding individual or commercial investors. However, these arts play an indispensable role in a country’s culture, as they are usually regarded as symbols of a long history, as well as a connection to the sense of identity of some residents. Without funds from government, the disappearance of these unprotected arts can never be reversed for lack of inheritors and the arts are thereby gradually erased from everyone’s memory, which is a tragedy for the country’s cultural peculiarity. That is not to say that seeking other supplies is not reasonable. The government budget is usually limited, especially in some developing countries with a bad economy and less comprehensive infrastructures, while investing in arts is costly, which means it will use up the money that otherwise be allocated to other fields like public transport, healthcare and state-provided education, thus presenting obstacles to the city development. These public services are more closely related to inhabitants’ living standard and should be prioritized, since it is a common sense that primary needs are crucial than spiritual lives. Personally, I reckon that arts should be subsidized by countries when the spending is acceptable, as it also contribute to individuals’ emotional well-being to a great extent. Considering artists’ source of finance, the public can get more free access to art galleries or exhibitions after governments’ support in arts, thus bringing them more opportunities to be exposed to arts. Appreciating works of arts like paintings, sculptures and murals can be a stress reducer by taking people’s minds off work. Meanwhile, those living in a city where the art industry flourishes are willing to pursue art-related hobbies such as pottery, which are outlets of negative emotions. These people in an artistic atmosphere thereby have a higher happiness index and healthier spiritual status. In conclusion, it is necessary for government to distribute more expenditure on arts for the sake of whole country and residents when it is possible.