The increase in food production is mostly due to fertilisers and better machinery. Yet, some think that it harms human health and communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It would be argued by some that high schools should make unpaid community service a compulsory part of the curriculum. To a certain extent, I agree that society and the students seem to benefit from it. However, I also think that unpaid work should just be a voluntary programme. On the one hand, many teenagers, who are not mature enough, do not know how to properly accomplish the tasks. Due to their lack of practical experience, the elderly people will have to take the time to instruct them in work and this eventually causes more problems than the heavy workload. Furthermore, most students are already under academic pressure, without being given the added responsibility of working in their spare time. Take the Vietnamese students as an example, their busy schedule, including eleven subjects, make them feel overwhelmed because they are required to complete all homework assignments. Therefore, forcing young people to do something is theoretical and can lead to resentment among them. On the other hand, teenagers can learn innumerable moral lessons from assisting others and be encouraged to dedicate themselves to society. Additionally, attending extracurricular activities allow them to learn some new life skills not be taught in class, namely time management, self–awareness, interpersonal skills. To elaborate, these skills gained through charitable work can be an asset on their CV and, consequently, increase their future employability. In conclusion, unpaid community services implementation may bring some advantages to individuals and the whole society but I believe that it should be a mandatory part of the school curriculum.