It is thought by some that it is better to live in a city while others believe that life is better in the country side. Discuss both sides

The question of whether government funding for the arts is the dissipation of resources has been a matter of debate. Those opposed to this allocation of funds maintain that it must be preferable this amount of money is allocated to other sectors. In this essay, I will differ on this assertion, believing it has profound impacts on society and the economy which cannot be overlooked. It appears that the arts are of no consequence to proponents of such policy. From their perspective, the government should only invest in public services, such as the healthcare system. It is undeniable that the creation of a safety net to provide dependable social services, especially for those unable to meet their own needs, should be high on the agenda. If the government does not spend enough money on such services, the well-being of its citizens might be in jeopardy. These are vital to extend opportunities and tackle social exclusion. Admittedly, spending money on public services is vitally important, but it does not mean that the arts should be completely neglected. The major justification for government arts funding is that not only do they preserve culture and heritage for future generations, but also contribute to the economy. In fact, this investment can yield a reasonable return, stimulating business activity and boosting tourism. Another positive aspect is the provision of a wide choice of entertainment and education, like theatre, for the citizenry. It is important for the government to allocate resources to all industries, which are of equal significance for a healthy society, so as to ensure that taxpayers receive real value for money. In conclusion, I subscribe to the theory that the arts play a prominent role in both economies and communities; therefore, public investments in the arts are extremely fruitful, and its benefits accrue to people. However, without support from governments, the aforementioned aims would not be fully achieved.