Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Improving the overall health of the public is one of critical objectives of many governments. Some people assume that increasing the number of sport centers and make them more accessible can help improve the general public health. Other believe that it is insufficient and other methods need to be combined in order to achieve this goal. In my opinion, I tend to agree with the latter statement and I shall discuss both ideas and give my own personal view in the following paragraph. Firstly, those who have an affinity for building more sport facilities may think that physical activity is an effective method that helps improve the general health. It is undeniable that doing regular exercises is vital to keep the body healthy, enhance the physical strength, flexibility and the overall health condition. If sporty facilities are facilitated in an area, they can captivate more local residents especially youngsters and elderlies to join. As a result, it may become their daily habit which eventually help alleviate the sedentary lifestyles or risk of obesity in that area. Moreover, a public exercise center may also an ideal place for local inhabitants to socialize, build rapports with each other and ameliorate their mental health. On the other hand, there are other factors that may affect the public health status of the population. Raising the self-awareness and knowledge of the local regarding healthy living habits and diseases prevention is also crucial. To achieve this, authorities can raise the awareness of the citizens through educational campaigns, community meetings in order to ensure local residents understand the importance of healthy lifestyles as well as update information about current disease preventions. Other methods that can be taken are to upgrade the current medical facilities in order to provide the best medical supports to the mob. In my opinion, a sport facility is an effective tool that is beneficial for our health. However, it is only effective when youngsters understand the importance and apply it correctly. In fact, it is not rare that many exercise centers were shut down in some areas due to the lack of members. In conclusion, while I tend to agree that having sporty infrastructure is necessary for improving the public health, governments should combine it with other factors in order to embrace with the complexity of the current public health challenges.