Lectures were used to be a way to teach large number of students, but with the technology available for education, there is no longer justification for lectures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Medicine is a field which has lots of fascinating and impressive ways of studying it with a well-balanced relationship among natural, formal and social sciences. From a very early age, this aroused my interest and prompted me to study not only the structure of the human body and physiology but also the mechanisms of pathogenesis with their respective treatments. I studied my Bachelor’s Degree (BS) in Medical Science (Medical Doctor, MD) at Universidad Militar Nueva Granada in Bogotá, Colombia. Nowadays, having a wide experience in both clinical and research fields related to healthcare using analytical methods as well as evidence-based medicine techniques. Regarding my research career, I have been part of multiple research groups while I was studying my bachelor’s as well as once I finished it. In the beginning, they were focused on Stem Cells, Genetics & Genomics, and Bioethics, taking an elective course for three years related to these branches in which there were theoretical and practical immersive sessions. Hence, exploring deeper into the most specific literacy and research done from ancient times to the present day as well as learning cutting-edge techniques about cultures, analysis, and methodology, finally being part of the ‘BioGenEtica Research Group’ at the above-mentioned University. After that, my research experience broadened to other topics linked to microbiology and parasitology, researching mainly diseases caused by helminths and protozoa that affect children in Colombia. These projects have been presented at not only national but also international symposiums and conferences and published in indexed journals. Regarding my work experience, during the last academic year in my BS, which is known as ‘The Internship’, the general clinical rotations were deeper in knowledge about Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, Surgery, and Gynecology & Obstetrics. Subsequently, after my graduation, my clinical performance was focused on the Internal Medicine field mainly related to critical care, emergency room, and inpatient health care. Additionally, taking specific continuing education courses to learn the most innovative strategies about COVID-19 management and The Fundamental Critical Care Support certified by The Society of Critical Care Medicine. Besides my backgrounds and experiences in all scenarios, namely academic, work, and research, not only my critical thinking and problem-solving skills have developed faster but also the relationship between the technological field and medicine has awakened my interest. Therefore, I am undertaking a virtual Postgraduate Program in Artificial Intelligence at The University of Texas at Austin, which has given me tools aimed at Python Programming Code, Machine Learning, and Neural Networks in addition to continuing education courses about Linear Algebra, Statistics, and Data Analytics. Currently, I am interested in following a research pathway related by applying all the knowledge which I have acquired as well as learning more about the cutting-edge tools and methodologies.