In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers and books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, online technologies have a significant role in our daily lives as various activities and errands can now be done at your fingertip through mobile devices or computers, which may suggest that the end of such print media is inevitable. In my opinion, however, conventional reading materials will still continue to be purchased due to their certain values which cannot simply be matched by digital media. First, print publishing offers greater accessibility, allowing readers to access the content regardless of personal impairments or insufficient technological coverage. For example, blind people cannot read digital publishing and still have to rely on a physical copy. Furthermore, physical materials do not require electronic devices, internet connections, or batteries, which means that they can serve their purpose regardless of the geographical setting. Secondly, physical objects have intangible values. Books and newspapers can be collected as historical evidence or, simply, as collectable items. In some cases, old textbooks may even become higher in monetary value as time passes due to their scarcity and originality. Last but not least, reading from physical pages does not strain your eyes as much as reading off a screen of a computer or a handheld device. Blue light emission from digital screens is known to cause various optical and health-related problems such as digital eye strain, headache, and facial muscles fatigue. To conclude, it is undeniable that technological devices do allow readers to access the different contents more conveniently. However, print media such as books and newspapers still serve certain purposes and retain certain values that technological advancements simply cannot yet imitate.