Instead of asking the government to bear the cost of higher education, students should pay their own tuition fees themselves. Do you agree or disagree with this statement

Tertiary education plays a key role in every society, where many countries bear the cost, thus consuming a great amount of public funds. As a result, some people claim that it is the students ' responsibility that they should pay for the expenses involved in college education themselves. From my perspective, I am not in favour of this opinion, believing that the government should render necessary assistance to those in need of help. On the one hand, subsidizing the outgoings of higher education for all students definitely places a high financial burden on governments. For one thing, there are more aspects that desperately need financial support, such as medical care, and infrastructure development, to name but a few. If the administration invests too much money in supporting college students, the overall living standard of society may decline to a certain extent, which is not fair for other citizens. Furthermore, many young people may not treasure the opportunity of studying in a university when funded by the public, thus wasting time and effort for both individuals and the nation. On the other hand, a great many high school graduates face financial pressure when applying for colleges every year, because of the increasing tuition fees, which, therefore, results in the growing number of dropouts of university applicants. In the long run, it will widen the gaps between the haves and have-nots. After all, tertiary education functions as an effective social ladder for those from disadvantaged backgrounds. If the financial condition becomes a major barrier for qualified college applicants, the government should offer essential subsidies, say, student loans, and part-time job opportunities, encouraging them to finish their studies as long as they can pay back after graduation. In conclusion, students gain the most benefits from higher education, so they are obliged to foot the bill, whilst some of them who are unable to afford the tuition should be subsidised by the government, which in turn will contribute greatly to both individuals and the society as a whole in future.