Not all drivers obey the laws while driving on roads. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to fix this problem?

In recent years, there have been accidents on roads, especially along the road from Nakuru to Malaba. In most cases, the drivers are to blame as they do not observe the laws. In this essay, I will discuss two key issues: corruption and unqualified drivers, as well as suggest possible solutions. One of the major reasons is that most police officers, who are in charge of enforcing the laws, are compromised by public transport operators. Drivers might give some money to traffic enforcers so that they can be allowed to flawed traffic regulations. They end up, for example, ignoring traffic lights even in front of traffic officers. This is a common trend in most cities and towns around the country. In addition to this, drivers obtain driving licenses in a fraudulent manner instead of undergoing proper training. They collude with officers working in the government agency in charge of issuing licenses, and as a result, we end up having unqualified people on roads. Punishing corrupt officers, however, is one of the probable solutions to this menace. Those found engaging in such malpractices should, for instance, be suspended from work, or in a worst-case scenario should be fired, prosecuted and jailed. Recently, the government of Kenya began cracking the whip on corrupt individuals in the country. This should also be extended to the transport sector as well. Another solution is that public awareness should be carried out on the importance of observing the laws. National Transport and Safety Authority, for example, can engage volunteers to educate drivers on road safety and regulations. At least, the drivers will be able to understand the significance of protecting all road users. In summary, corruption among the law enforcers and transport players is one of the major challenges on roads. However, educating drivers through public campaigns will address some of these problems.