Some people think that art is essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent years, the question of whether art should be taught at school has been a matter of debate. Some maintain that art should be an integral part of the study; however, there is another school of thought which dismisses this notion as they deem that it is the dissipation of time. In this essay, I will discuss both assertions and conclude that it is of paramount importance. The most powerful argument in favour of art being on the school curriculum is its profoundly positive impact on the development of children’s cognitive skills. By participating in art activities, children deploy a wide range of accomplishments, like decision-making, thereby enhancing them. Not only can art help children have a fertile imagination, but also promotes lateral thinking in them. It can, therefore, have far-reaching implications, as this expertise are also crucial to learning other subjects; hence it appears logical to suggest that art improve outcomes in all subjects. Notwithstanding these substantial benefits, it seems this subject is of no consequence to some. They point out schools should prioritise core subjects, like physics, arguing STEM skills are vital for students’ future lives and art is worthless. Given the fact that not all pupils have the opportunity to pursue their interest in art academies or at home, was art excluded from the school curriculum, they would not be able to understand the value of the arts, nor would those who are artistically inclined hone their skills. In conclusion, I subscribe to the theory that art should be a part of the curriculum in view of the fact art education is critical to students’ personal and educational development, and it is inextricably linked to other disciplines as it can foster those skills also needed for them.