Many films and music pieces are free on the internet. Is this a good or bad development?

With the proliferation of the internet, many individuals and organisations in the music industry are concerned about the perils posed by music piracy, and they believe further precautionary measures should be taken to avert them. In this essay, I will argue in favour of such measures to protect their copyright. It has, however, been argued that downloading music for free from unlicensed sites has some advantages, without considering the prejudicial impact on the music industry. Supporters of this assertion believe that it contributes to the increased popularity of the artists, and thus they shoot to stardom at ease. Moreover, it makes music readily available for those who cannot afford registration fees or subscriptions on legally licensed streaming sites like Spotify. Nevertheless, Artists has virtually spent their whole lives honing their skills, and ownership infringement has been the greatest threat to them all the way through their career. This violation of copyright can give rise to the reduction of revenue, which in turn jeopardises the industry’s existence. To tackle this problem Musicians and music organisations state that more strategies should be deployed to curb this piracy, and this is a problem where governments have a critical role to play. For instance, they urge search engine providers to prioritise search results relating to legal services. In so doing, people might be encouraged to download music legally. In conclusion, my firm conviction is that people in the music business need to reap the rewards of industriousness, and these illegal music downloading sites are major hurdles that should be addressed through some actions which protect their copyright on a large scale.