Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child's development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion.

Homeschooling is a phenomenon that happens more and more often in modern society. However, most school -age children still get their education by attending a conventional school, whether it is a public or private school. Nevertheless, it is difficult to decide which one is the best for a child's development because each method has its own disadvantages. First, teaching a child at home requires a dedicated educator who not only has to have a teaching license but also a capability to cater for the need of the child. These competencies are specific and not many teachers are able to fulfil the role. Therefore, hiring ones would not come as cheap. Secondly, the home environment should also be conducive for learning activities. A home-schooled child could easily get distracted by others' presence (e.g. his/her siblings, parents, or helpers) if such an environment is not provided. Lastly, previous studies have suggested that socialising with friends is one of the most important aspects of education. This would be hard to achieve for those who decide their child to have a school from home. On the other hand, going to school also has several drawbacks. The majority of schools assign 20-30 students per class. With only one teacher overseeing their learning activity at a time, each student's unique needs could not usually be fulfilled. Furthermore, although school offers a highly stimulating nuance for socialising, some children still face difficulty in making friends and this obstacle could be seen as a weakness, resulting in them being bullied by their friends. To summarise, both schooling methods are neither good nor bad. Personally, I would still suggest parents send their children to school. Not only it has an environment ideal for a child's socialising development, but it also provides a competitive condition that would make a child strive to be better. If a student does have a specific need or bullying occurs, parents are allowed to have an audience with the school and the school will provide a solution that can be agreed upon.