for centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. with the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

The importance of reading, writing and math as parts of the the educational process is not up for debate. Those subjects represent the core of knowledge regimens in majority of the educational institutions. However, with the unprecedented development in computer science, a plethora of people believe that in the current days, it is imperative to have computer skills. I personally, totally opine with this perspective for many reasons. Firstly, Computer skills now are incorporated and needed in all jobs. Secondly, a major in computer science is highly in demand and it is a very well-paid work. For many years, English skills such as reading and writing, along with mathematical skills have taken the primary focus of education systems. However, the world has changed with the introduction of information technology sciences, thus, to go along with this trend, it is a necessity to learn and have computer skills. Generally, whatever is the type of job now, knowledge about how to operate and work on computers are essential. For example, doctors now save all their patients’ data in secured files on hard discs. Moreover, They use software such as excel and powerpoint, which make their work accessible to them. Another example is in banks, where all the transactions, customers’ details are securely made by software systems developed specifically for banks. Additionally, Another factor that should be taken into consideration is the high demand for computer science engineers. The field has gained the respect and admiration of a great proportion of the society. This is due to the fact that it is a decent job that provides a well-off salary. For example, statistics show that computer science-related jobs are the highest paid jobs in the market with an estimation of around 300,000$ per year. Besides that, They are renowned for their smartness, which makes them highly respected in society. To sum up, It is indeed essential to have a good education that improves students’ knowledge of the English language as long as mathematics subject, Nevertheless, the era now demands individuals to acquire beneficial computer skills, therefore, it’s highly recommended for students to learn them.