When cars and cyclists use the same roads, there are often problems. Why is this the case? What are the solutions?

Myriad threats to both drivers and cyclists when occupying the same streets have arisen. In my opinion, this is primarily the fault of the latter and to improve the situation, city planners should take the ultimate responsibility. The most frequently cited rationale for causing the incident is that the cyclist predominately has a warped sense of priority. On roads, where there is no separate lane for bikes, the car has the right of way and the cyclist should prioritise the car to pass by first. One of the salient illustrations of this is often reported in numerous accidents in small British towns, where bikers attempt to traverse as fast as cars and even take on the car lane without careful observation. Had these people followed the transport guidance, there would have been fewer collisions that led to thousands of undesirable deaths. This type of accident also occurs in other nations and eventually the citizenry points to the urban planners to bring improvements. Albeit I concede the cyclist's fault as the one mentioned, I would contend that governments play a pivotal role in the new design of cities and existing roads. Due to the lack of improvised infrastructure, cyclists have no choice but to run on the same roads with cars. Opposite to this can be most apparently seen in a number of European cities like Amsterdam and Copenhagen, where bike lanes and altered roadways have been provided to diminish road rage and disagreement. Not only the adjustments to roads have been concerned, but also they have come up with innovative initiatives for roundabouts, traffic lights, bypasses and bridges. This has reasoned why these cities are seen as the paradise for cyclists and attract millions of visitors every year. Therefore, this development should be replicated across the board as we have witnessed the clear and tangible benefits to the general populace in Netherlands and Denmark. In conclusion, whilst the cyclist is the key catalyst for these unwanted instances on roads, these can be remedied through better urban planning. In my final thought, governors and transport regulators should propose a more holistic approach in order to implement heavy fines for not obeying the law and mitigate further severity of road-related issues.