Topic 14: (25/06/2016) Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people assert that policymakers should prioritize the national budget to empowering residents to adopt a healthy lifestyle rather than allotting money to curing ill victims since it serves no purpose. In my personal view, I disagree with that viewpoint and I believe that two duties are equally important, so they deserve to be financially supported by central authorities. Granted, there is no denying that it is integral for governments to invest money in incentivizing citizens to follow a desirable lifestyle. One of the most cited reasons is that if people are health conscious, they are less likely to incur latent diseases in the long run, which not only deters them from life threatening illness, but also avoids being a burden for their beloved ones and for the whole society. For example, young people have awareness of confining themselves to greasy and sugar fast food, carrying a high risk to their health; they will not possess a high incidence of getting those serious diseases such as obesity or diabetes in their later life. Irrefutably, although diverting coffer to implement public health campaigns is of the essence, I chime with the idea that it is absurd to overlook the importance of curing ill patients. Firstly, if national officials do not financially subsidize sick people, it can take a heavy toll on both those people and the whole nation. Indeed, when patients with fatally contagious diseases are not treated, they unintentionally spread their illness to numerous other people, posing a detrimental threat to both the community, and even worse, the whole population, triggering financial and mental burdens on central leaders. Additionally, helping and curing sick people lay a foundation for medical advances and represent a moral attitude and lifestyle of a nation. It is undeniable that while medical practitioners treat patients with unfamiliar symptoms, breakthroughs and medical leaps are uncovered, facilitating them to experiment to alleviate these sickness for the next patients and usher new therapies in the medicine industry. In brief, I believe that national leaders need to apply two approaches simultaneously to promote residents to have good well-being as well as avoid potential risks and try exploring new strides in the medical field.