The use of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter are replacing face- to- face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to technological advancements, nobody in the 21st century can live without using a social media app. While the online platforms have drawbacks of cyberbullying and increasing excessive addiction in people, I believe the benefits outweigh them due to three advantages. Firstly, the main advantage of social media apps is that they have given the opportunity to people to connect with anybody across the world with a few clicks on the internet despite having different races, cultures or ethnicity. Apart from this, you can also talk free of cost and connect via video calls for face to face interaction, even though an individual is living in a different location than your native place. Moreover, you can call and chat anytime,anywhere using Facebook, Twitter and it is completely subjected to the recipient's availability. To illustrate, Facebook and WhatsApp have the facility to call internationally whereas the communication industry charges a hefty price for them furthermore, you can drop a message as well. Thus, social media applications are really beneficial in a few circumstances. On the other hand, the excessive use of online apps can lead to addiction which results in wasting a lot of time on a daily basis. There is evidence that once people become addicted to social media websites they lose focus on their work or study. At the same time, cyberbullying and crime rates have been inclined in recent times. Many scammers and companies are targeting young individuals who are using social media to do fraud. For example, cybercrime as stealing credit card details and customer personal information is highly sensitive and cause the loss of a million dollars for any organization. Therefore, social media does have some disadvantages for individuals as well as for multinational companies. To conclude, although having disadvantages of cybercrime and addiction to Instagram or Facebook the advantage of connecting with anybody, anytime, anywhere as well as functionality to see people on-screen outweigh the disadvantages.