Topic 4: Many people decide on a career path early in their lives and keep to it. This, they argue, leads to a more satisfying working life. To what extent do you agree with this view? What other things can people do in order to have a satisfying working life?

It is argued that choosing a career to pursue at a young age and maintaining it for the rest of life facilitates having a more satisfying career. In my opinion, I partly agree with this opinion because I believe that apart from benefits gained when we decide our jobs early, owning job satisfaction requires more than that. On the one hand, it is undeniable that making decisions about our occupations early and sticking to them has certain benefits, leading to the likelihood of job happiness. The most persuasive justification is job experiences and job promotions. Granted, selecting their job pursuits early helps people have more time to devote to their jobs, laying a solid foundation for them to delve into their field and master it without wasting time for job changes or job hops. This, therefore, contribute to their job advancements and superior positions at work which is a contributing part to a gratifying job. On the other hand, I would contend that to gain satisfaction about our work needs additional factors. The first element is our passion. The concern is that whether our early jobs fit our passion or not. If we follow the work as a boring routine, it is a terrible thing we have to incur in our whole life. The most important thing, therefore, is that we identify our passionate career. In addition, besides high salary, job promotions at work, autonomy need to be taken into consideration to acquire a truly happy job. The more controls workers have, the better they can feel to accomplish their tasks. Indeed, they still have to complete their jobs, but they feel more independent and self-controlled, acting as a contributing factor to their job satisfaction. In conclusion, I am more convinced that finding our jobs early and receiving tangible advantages is good, but more importantly, to own a happy job, there is a need for more major contributors such as passion and autonomy at work.