Competition for university study is becoming increasingly strong. Why are universities becoming more competitive? Is this a positive or negative development?

It has been pointed out that the competition in universities has been getting extremely fierce. Personally, I opine that the strong competition in the job market is the reason for this situation, and this is a dreadful trend as it is detrimental to university students' physical health. First of all, due to the strong competition in the workplace, if those who just leave their educations want to acquire a lucrative occupant, they have to achieve a higher score than their peers to signify they have a higher level of abilities and enthusiasm. As a result, young school learners need to compete with their classmates in order to stand out, which contributes to the growth of competition in educational establishments. For instance, in China, most employers prefer to give a job offer to candidates who hold an extremely wonderful academic performance in their classrooms. Youngsters studying in college know this rule in the job market, so they excel themselves to get the best result in their study, which results in a high level of competition in educational institutions. Furthermore, increasing competition creates a harsh learning atmosphere for pupils, which negatively affects their physical well-being. This is because those who want to graduate with decent qualifications and manage to get a rewarding and well-paid job have to burn their midnight oil and get up early in the morning to study, thus hurting their physical conditions. For example, a vast majority of students in Beijing university say that as the environment of their college is becoming incredibly competitive, their peers normally invest a great deal of leisure time to do research, which forces them to follow this trend. As study occupies their sport and sleeping time, they are suffering from digestive problems. In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion about the reason why the competition in colleges is getting fierce and whether is a thriving or disgraceful trend, I am of the opinion that the difficulty of finding jobs is the reason, and this circumstance is a negative development as it brings physical problems for university learners.