Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is considered that having more sports facilities will boost public health, but however, some think other things have to be put in place alongside. This essay will discuss both ideas and my opinion on the matter. On one hand, some persons believe that more sports facilities should be available to enhance public health because experts are advising regular exercise for optimal health. That is, individuals should do more physical activities in other to stay healthy and having more sports centres that are easily accessible will make plenty of people indulge in sports thereby improving public health. For example, a school in Lagos named Leads university created more sports centres and kept bicycles on every electric pole within the university premises so students can cycle to their various classes and also make use of the centres regularly hence, improving their health. This is considered an efficient way to promote people's health in society. On the other hand, I think there are other ways to improve societal wellbeing, as just providing more sports facilities are not enough but creating public awareness on diet will be adequate. That is to say, just exercising and not having a good diet plan will do less good because the inadequate diet is one of the leading causes of illnesses like diabetes, hypertension, obesity, etc, in our world today. For instance, 80 per cent of children in a school in Lagos eat fast foods every day and do not get to eat fresh food and fruits frequently and this lead to a lot of them coming down with obesity. Health submits should be made to the general public on the effect of diet on their wellbeing. To conclude, some individuals feel that there should be more sports equipment for good health because it is advised that steady exercise improves health but I think that the public has to be aware that other measures like watching their diets are also needed for optimal living.