In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations

Many developed countries are experiencing substantial increases in life expectancy. It is true that people in industrialised nations can expect to live longer than ever before. Several problems have resulted from this trend and they should be tackled by a number of effective solutions as presented in this essay. There are several related problems that can be anticipated. The greatest issue is that there will obviously be more people of retirement age who will be eligible to receive a pension. The proportion of younger, working adults will be smaller, therefore, governments will receive less money in taxes in relation to the size of the population. In other words, an ageing population will mean a greater tax burden for working adults. Another point is that the growing population of elderly people puts a heavy burden on the healthcare system. Older people are more vulnerable to chronic diseases such as heart attacks, diabetes and so on, that require special medical treatments to be effectively treated. There may be various ways to address this situation, but the following suggestions can be substantially effective. Firstly, a simple solution would be to increase the retirement age for working adults. These days, people of this age tend to be healthy enough to continue a productive working life. This approach is productive to some extent, but some other measures should be given equal consideration. Secondly, it is important to educate people about the importance of money management and saving for retirement. By doing this, when people reach their retirement age, they will have a certain amount of money to take care of themselves without the need to depend on their children or the government. In conclusion, there are various negative consequences of this trend, and appropriate steps need to be taken to tackle these problems that a country with an ageing population might encounter.