In many cities, an increasing number of people do not know their neighbors and there is no sense of community anymore. Discus the causes and suggests measures that might deal with this situation.

In the modern era, with changing lifestyles, community and social bonding seem to be fading. It is easy to find that, especially in cities, many people don't even know their neighbours. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons for this growing trend along with measures that can be used to tackle the situation. One prominent cause for this trend is an increase in professional pressure and job expectations. Nowadays people tend to work for an average of 10 to 12 hours a day and in some Asian,countries the average working hours are around 12 to 14 hours a day, leaving little time for social meetups and bondings. They don't have time to get social and know people living around. Adding to this is the growing social media and a sense of individualism which on the face has connected the world but has actually distant people apart. People prefer to stay indoors and entertain themselves with easy to access online media. They don't like coming out of their cocoons and meet others around. This growing trend has done more harm than good to society. Rising suicides, divorces are inevitable outcomes of this trend. There can be several ways to combat the situation at hand. Firstly, society or apartment authorities can organize social meetups on festivals and special occasions, providing an opportunity for people to meet and know each other. Moreover, companies should understand the importance of work-life balance and provide their employees to live a balanced life. If required, governments should impose the working laws strictly. To conclude, the growing trend on individualism and loss of sense of community can be curbed if the root cause is understood properly and measures are taken. Some of these reasons and strategies are discussed above.