New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s society, modern technologies have altered how children spend their spare time. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I believe that these are outweighed by the advantages. On the one hand, there are two major drawbacks when young people allocate their leisure time to playing with digital gadgets. The first drawback is that this trend has a detrimental effect on their physical health. Children are more likely to suffer from various health problems such as short - sightedness or back pain when they devote a large amount of their time in front of a computer than those who take part regularly in outdoor activities. Furthermore, screen time activities also affect negatively on youngsters’ mental health. This is because those people tend to isolate themselves to play games or chat with their peers through social networking sites instead of face – to – face interaction, leading to social isolation and other psychological disorders. Many studies have shown that the more physical activities children undertake, the happier they will be. On the other hand, I believe that the benefits of this trend are more significant than such disadvantages. Firstly, children might have more chances to broaden their knowledge through enormous programs on hi – fi devices. A child, for instance, will know more about wildlife animals and their natural habitats if he spends his free time watching videos on Animal Planet Channel than those who do have this habit. Secondly, hi – tech gadgets provide the young with enormous opportunities to widen their virtual – friend circle. This means that they are more likely to make friends from all over the world thanks to the latest technological applications such as Facebook, Instagram or Twitter. In conclusion, I would argue that the trend of using technologies in children ’s free time brings more benefits than drawbacks.