Nowadays, we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

This century has witnessed increasing rubbish on an unprecedented scale. Today, people are increasingly creating garbage due to many reasons. I think Increased consumerism and lack of recycling are the primary causes of this problem. However, authorities can minimize this by imposing taxes and raising public awareness. Several factors are contributing to this rubbish problem. Firstly, growing consumerism has become the key to this matter. In other words, today, people need to have the latest technology. Nonetheless, the technology dates back quickly. Therefore, many used technology-related products are being added to the environment causing the growth of waste. For example, In Sri Lanka, 10kg of used mobile phones are dumped monthly. Secondly, some people tend to throw recyclable items to normal disposable waste bins, which will add rubbish to the environment. Although there are some waste management systems in place, they are also exhausted with these practices. Nevertheless, the government should try to tackle this problem with viable solutions. When finding possible remedies for this situation, governments can impose higher taxes on products that people are more likely to buy frequently. It will deter people from buying those products, and they will prolong the use of their existing devices. In addition, it would be very worthwhile to raise public awareness by showing them the risk of producing more dumps. If people are more educated, then it will be more advantages for the environment. For instance, last year, the Sri Lankan government campaigned to educate people about recycling, and it became successful. As a result, now the collection of daily rubbish has reduced by 40% compared to last year. In conclusion, Although people ’s higher consumerism and poor recycling cause more dump, authorities can diminish this by passing new laws or educating the public. Then this world will become a rubbish -free world and hopefully a salubrious place to live.