The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion mil be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life.

When it comes to career goals and education, there have been some major changes over the past few decades. Before, it was considered a great success to become proficient in a certain skill and continue working the same job through one’s whole life. The financial support provided by engaging in a certain career was enough to live a comfortable life and the required time to do so wouldn’t allow second guessing. Each lifetime was equal to one dream. Nowadays things are much different. Technology has made learning a new skill as simple as it gets. With the help of computers and online instructors, anything is possible: be it taking part in something as a hobby or a new job. While the prospect of such various opportunities might sound delightful to some individuals, for others they might be choices forced upon them by financial aspects. The cost of living has climbed considerably, forcing people to grasp every opportunity for further income and pushing the society to spend a greater portion of their life aspiring to gain new skills. Another important factor is the overall economical instability. Overnight changes of prices, companies downsizing and market changes makes the overall situation unpredictable. What was once considered a stable route of income might change overnight. leaving the traditional family to struggle with the aftermath. It is also beneficial to consider the role of hobbies. For example in the past, some woman used to cook desserts or sew clothes for their own enjoyment. Presently, the same act with the help of social media and a set of simple editing skills can be used as a way to gain more money. It is no surprise that people would favor turning their free time into money if they had the chance. Overall, there are many factors contributing to society’s change of view on careers and educational goals and it is hard to pinpoint what is more important but one thing is for certain: the said changes has made life more enjoyable, enabling more and more people to reach their dream.