In recent years, more and more people tend to live individually. What are the causes of this trend? Does this have a positive or negative effect on society?

Recently, a considerable number of people decide to live on their own. The main reason for this phenomenon is that people work or study in a different city or country than where they were brought up. I will outline the causes as well as the positive and negative effects that this trend might have on society. To begin with, the driving force for someone to live alone is seeking work or study in an area different from where his family live. People have to move out of their family's house to pursue their dreams. Moreover, some people decide at a certain age that they want to be independent and live their own life away from their parent's rules and restrictions. The more people feel oppressed the earlier they will seek privacy in their life. While the idea of living alone might sound appealing, it can have both positive and negative effects on the community. Regarding the positive effect, people living alone tend to be more reliable and seek financial independence at a younger age than those living with their families. For example, someone who is studying in a different country is willing to take a part-time job to get his living expenses while someone at the same age living with his parents will be completely dependent on them. Regarding the negative effect, living alone makes people get isolated and can lead to depression. More people are seeking psychiatric help in recent years which can burden the healthcare system. In conclusion, a shift in people's preferences regarding their way of living has been noticed lately. The decision of living alone has been associated with more financial independence but this comes with risks of being isolated.