Some people say that advertisement targeting children may have negative effects on them, and suggest banning such advertisement as a solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is an irrefutable fact that companies use different strategies to increase their sales. Although adults can distinguish misleading commercials, children cannot. Therefore, a segment of society believes that ads, aimed at the younger generation should be banned. I totally agree with this opinion. To commence, some companies produce food targeting children such as chocolates, snacks and drinks. Generally, these products are harmful because they are rich in salt, fat and sugar. Regular consumption of high-fat snacks and sugary drinks can nurture unhealthy eating habits or cause child obesity. For instance, children eating hamburgers, drinking Coca Cola, soon or later will have health issues. Adding further, companies use celebrities or cartoon characters to incite the younger ones to purchase the goods. The younger children can be easily exposed to commercials and pester their parents asking to buy toys or food with their favourite characters even if they do not really need them. This in turn may lead to consumerism and make children more materialistic. The younger generation does not know the value of money and cannot differentiate well. Subsequently, children may ask their parents to buy expensive toys or some electronic devices they saw in adverts. For example, commercials may be a root cause of conflicts between children and their parents. To conclude, having discussed the argument, I personally feel that commercials targeting children may cause grievous consequences on the younger ones and their relationship with their parents. Thus, the government should strictly control the ads or even ban them.