In some countries, more and more adults are continuing to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, it is quite common for people to live with their parents even after they have graduated from university and found a job. There are various reasons for this situation, as well as some consequences. Overall, it is impossible to say whether it is a good or a bad phenomenon, so this essay will explore both the advantages and disadvantages. On the plus side, people who live with their parents after university may save money which they can then use later in life. This is preferable to paying rent and bills for several years after graduation. Instead of this, young people can live with their parents and then buy a house when they are ready to settle down. In addition, this situation can allow young people to stay closer to their families and maintain traditions. In the modern world, lots of old values have changed or been lost, and this can help continue closer family relationships. There are also a great many negatives to this. Unfortunately, living at home restricts a young person’s freedom, and thus they cannot forge close personal relationships with their peers. It is important for young men and women to live together as young adults so that they can know each other before marriage, and living with parents makes this impossible. More than just impacting social development, living alone or with friends or a partner allows for many other responsibilities, and living with parents also restricts this. For example, it is good for young people to learn about the difficulties of paying bills and doing their own chores rather than relying upon their parents. In conclusion, it is hard to say whether there are more advantages or disadvantages. It seems there are different cultural perspectives to be taken into consideration. All that can really be concluded is that there are certainly many big differences between living alone and living with your parents.