Governments should spend more on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that more funds should be invested in railways instead of lines by governments. I strongly agree with this and will give my reasons in this essay. Firstly, I think governments should spend more money on railways and not on roads because there are limited accidents via this route of transportation. That is to say that, despite the safety measures placed on road users, there are still reckless drivers who end up creating accidents on the road but trains are limited and their movements are well structured which results in a less tendency to crash. For example, only one case of railway accident has been recorded in Ukraine over the past decade but there is at least one road accident recorded every week. Therefore, more funds should be put into railways to make them functional and in good condition. Secondly, I believe authorities should invest more money in railway transportation than road because a large number of passengers and goods can be conveyed at once in a train. That is, vehicles can carry few persons and trucks can carry little tonnes of goods per time but on the other hand, trains can carry heavy tonnes of goods and more passengers at a time. For instance, more than twenty trucks used to carry tomatoes from the northern part of Nigeria to the southern part every day but when a railway network was created between these two regions, just one train arrival brings all of the tomatoes. rail line should therefore be prioritized over highway because of its effectiveness in transporting larger commodities. In conclusion, governments should direct more money to railways rather than roads because they are safer and can convey more people and goods at once.