Some people think that children should learn how to compete, but other think that children should be taught to cooperatevto become more useful adults. Express some reasons for both views and give your opinion.

While some people might think that competition between children is good behaviour to be taught, it is possible to argue quite the opposite. In my opinion, I believe that cooperation is the quality that needs to be attained at this age. In this essay, I will outline the causes for both opinions including my own opinion. To begin with, some people believe that competition between children is healthy for different reasons. First, it creates a motivation to be better. For example, children like to be the first in class and to be rewarded for this, therefore, they will exert extra effort to achieve that and compete with their peers. It is a competition for a good cause because everyone wants to show their best abilities. Second, being unique and at the centre of attention can only be achieved by competing. The more someone achieves the more he will be glamourous and respected. On the other hand, competition can create a lot of tension between peers and fail to achieve the good manners that cooperation might teach them. Cooperative can teach them to help each other and to be considerate of one another even if they have the same goal. For example, when studying for the same exam, they should support their classmates and help them with their difficult parts even if they all want to get high grades. Competing should not deter them from helping their peers. Moreover, they should learn that by cooperation the credit for success goes to all members of the team,not just one. For instance, when playing as a team, winning can only be achieved by cooperation between the team members and consequently, the glory will go to the team as a whole. The more we cooperate the more we can achieve together. To conclude, as competing may sound tempting to some children, it can create hatred and tension between peers. In my opinion, children can benefit more from cooperation by dividing the tasks between all peers.