Many people think that zoos, which keep wild animals in a man-made environment should no longer exist in the 21st century. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the current century, it is widely believed that zoos should be completely eradicated from society. I firmly agree with this view and shall portray my thoughts with some supporting points in the following paragraphs. To begin with, wildlife parks are distinctly different from the natural environment. Most significantly, these are confined areas in which these wild inhabitants are kept. For example, tigers are given a 10 metres walking space, however, in their own natural environment they roam around for hundreds of kilometres. Secondly, these zoological institutions do not provide them proper diet. Moreover, the food provided to them is less hygenic and lacks essential proteins which is vital for their survival. For instance, recently in the news it was shown that most of the animals such as giraffes, monkeys and cheetahs died in a zoological garden due to malnutrition. Consequently, it has been ubiquitously seen that visitors in national parks tease these caged animals. Due to which, they sway from one corner of the cage to another, in turn, hurting themselves. As an example, in a recent poll it was shown that 80% of the families misbehave with the wild creatures locked up in a cage, which has a detrimental impact on these animals. In addition, the cross-breeding programmes conducted by the zoos have failed attempts. Besides, this poses a threat to their existence and may also cause their lineage to extinct. To illustrate, a renowned menagerie tried hybridizing a male lion and a female tiger to give birth to a liger. This experiment turned out to be a disaster in which the test specimens cost their lives and both the animals were dead. To conclude, I would like to reiterate my opinion that the cruel activities practised by these zoos is unacceptable and with an immediate action they should be totally abolished.