Many parents are unhappy with the amount of violence in video games, television programmes, and other leisure activities for children. How harmful, in your opinion, could this be to children? What could be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

We live in an age when a large number of children are addicted to violent video games and social media. There are various possible reasons behind this trend, and I believe that several measures can be taken to address this issue. There are a number of reasons why violence in video games, television programmes, and other activities is harmful to children. The most conspicuous one lies in the fact that they can negatively influence children ’s emotional and behavioural development. If children are regularly exposed to violent content, this can lead them to develop harmful behaviours, such as violence and the inability to control emotions. Furthermore, spending long hours watching harmful content can bring health issues to children. For instance, they can lose their eyesight and because they do not play outside, they can suffer from obesity and delayed physical development. While acknowledging the aforementioned perspectives, I firmly believe that this social issue can be solved in several ways. The primary method is for the government to make stringent regulations on age ratings. If the government regulates video games and television programmes, children can no longer watch inappropriate content and furthermore, they will have healthy hobbies like playing soccer or baseball with friends. Another solution is for parents to monitor and limit their children ’s screen time, encouraging them to have other activities. For instance, if parents have a group party with other parents, this can lead to children not only having healthier lifestyles but also maintaining positive relationships with other children. In conclusion, although there is a growing number of children who are more inclined to spend time with violent video games and television programmes, there are still a variety of ways governments and families can decrease the addiction of young people towards violent media sources.