Some people say that what individuals do to protect cannot make difference, others say that individuals can protect environment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Environmental issues are undeniably among the most pressing challenges of our time. While there is widespread consensus on the urgency of these problems, opinions differ on the scale at which they should be tackled. Some advocate for an individual approach, feeling that each person should independently handle their environmental concerns. However, others, myself included, would argue that these issues, given their, magnitude and interconnectedness, mandate a global response. On the one hand, those supporting an individual approach offer several compelling arguments. Chief of these is that each person can help alleviate the problem of rubbish. They posit that if a citizen knows how to reduce, reuse and recycle, humans will not damage the environment with billions of tons of garbage annually. Moreover, single approaches can be more efficient, and tailored to specific lifestyles, cultural and social contexts. Lastly, such a measure can be implemented swiftly without the bureaucratic hurdles that international agreements often entail. However, it should be recognized that environmental challenges, especially those of monumental scale like climate change, do not respect the aforementioned boundaries. Rising sea levels, for example, threaten human well-being, especially those living in island nations. Additionally, pollution in one region can affect air and water quality in its neighbourhood. Therefore, the global nature of such problems necessitates collective action. Furthermore, such global initiatives not only set shared goals but also foster a sense of global solidarity in facing common challenges. In conclusion, while individual initiatives play a pivotal role in addressing specific environmental issues, the magnitude and interconnectedness of many environmental challenges require a more unified, global approach. By coming together as a global community, we can harness our collective resources and expertise to protect the Earth.