There are more and more effective security measures in large cities to reduce the crime. For example, installation of anti-crime devices in cities. Does this endeavour bring more benefits than problems?

Crime is increasing at an alarming rate in metropolises as a result a plethora of safety measures have been taken to alleviate the problem. However, some people hold the view that installing anti-crime devices can be problematic. This essay tends to discuss both perspectives and I will explain why I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, it is an indisputable fact that cameras are a major deterrent to crime. Nowadays, CCTV cameras are installed in almost every buildings thus leaving little or no scope for criminals to invade the house. Similarly, burglar alarms have largely contributed to decreasing the number of thefts and robberies in metropolitan cities. Whenever someone burglarizes, the sound system turn on alerting everyone in the house and the authority. For instance, a recent survey showed that in New York City, the number of cases of burglaries have declined due to the prevalence of security devices. Every coin has two sides. The drawbacks of this initiative are just as many as the benefits. The first disadvantage that has often been argued by those against the installation of anti-crime gadgets is that it would lead to economic loss. To be more precise, inserting these tools in a society or building would entail a considerable sum of money. Secondly, thieves can effortlessly hack into the system and allow themselves in without sounding the alarm. For example, recently in Pakistan, an old couple was murdered at night when a robber broke into their house despite proper safety measures. To conclude, although fitting anti-crime gadgets have some disadvantages, they provide people with a safe surroundings. Therefore, I strongly believe that the merits outbalance the demerits