Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, almost every city has a zoo, people go there looking for entertainment and to learn about the wildlife. Although a segment of society is concerned that zoos help to preserve animals, others, however, believe that they should be shut down because animals should not be caged. Both points of view need to be addressed before formulating an opinion. To commence with arguments in favour of zoos, first and foremost, they protect endangered animals from illegal activities like poaching and hunting. The number of wildlife is dramatically declining, this is happening in response to human habitation, deforestation, pollution and many other reasons. Hence, zoos help animals to avoid the grievous consequences of human beings' activities. Secondly, people get a chance to educate themselves and their children about wildlife. For example, children learn about animals and respect their lives. On the contrary, zoos curtail freedom. More specifically, predators are meant to hunt to survive, others should run miles to stay healthy which is impossible in zoos. Subsequently, it detrimentally affects the physical and mental wellbeing of animals. It can be seen in their behaviour, for instance, some animals go back and forth in their cages not knowing what to do. Moreover, not all animals in zoos belong to the endangered category. They are kept in cages only to entertain humans and bring financial profit to business owners, which is immoral. To conclude, I personally opine that wild creatures are not meant to be kept in cages. Instead, they should be preserved in protected national park areas where they have more freedom.